Lab #3

Part 1

David Sedaris.

Sarcastic tone. Uses italics. Asks questions. Puts some of his thoughts as they are formulated in his mind (ex: “Did i hear her correctly?”).

Part 2

The school day had just ended, and in a hurry to leave, me and my friend started running down the street.I could see my mother walking towards the school, on her way to pick me up. Next to her was my 1st grade teacher, Andre. Now I new I just had to win this race. Impressing my ex teacher was of great importance to me, and so I pushed my legs forward.

You might wonder why this was of such importance, and I’ll wonder with you. At this point my friend was catching up to me, and all I could think about was Faster, faster. Little did I know my legs couldn’t handle it for so long and I went crashing down to the ground with full force.

Est-ce que ca va?

Of couse ca va. Ca va, I just have a huge patch of missing skin and blood on my knee. I didn’t mind crying in front of my Mother,  but in front of Andre? I couldn’t let it happen and so it took all my willpower to hold it all in. All I could think about was Don’t make yourself look stupid, you already made yourself look stupid. I was humiliated, and at the lack of my tears the adults felt confused.

Part 3

In a hurry to leave, my friend and I started running down the street. I could see my mother walking towards the school, on her way to pick me up. Next to her was my 1st grade teacher, Andre. Now I new I just had to win this race, and so I pushed my legs forward.

All I could think about was Faster, but my legs couldn’t handle it for so long and I went crashing down with full force.

Est-ce que ca va?

Of course. Ca va, I just have a huge bleeding bobo on my knee. I didn’t mind crying in front of my Mother,  but in front of Andre? All I could think about was Don’t make yourself look stupid, you already made yourself look stupid. I was humiliated, and at the lack of my tears the adults were confused.

Part 4

The bell screeched the signal of the end of the school day and so me and my friend went flying own the street. As I was running, I could see my mother from afar, making her way towards us to come and pick us up. Walking net to her though, was my 1st year teacher, Andre. As I saw him and became determine to win this race and impress the hell out of my teacher and parent. i had to be the best and look great! I started running as fast and hard as i could, but it was unfortunately too much for my little legs and so i went crashing down to the ground with full force.

est-ce que ca va?”

Hell no ca va pas. I now had a huge piece of skin that was ripped off from my knee, which was profusely bleeding. It hurt like hell, but I didn’t want to cry in front of my ex teacher and so i held back my tears, trying to look tough. I felt super embarrassed and the adults were simply super confused at my lack of crying.

Part 5

During this time I decided to do research on my subject: I wanted to see the quantity of relative info I could gather. I also decied to do some brainstorming to try and clarify my mind.

Leave a Reply

